Iphoneography: Lessons from #PhotoWeekLive

September 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

I will admit, the first time I ever heard of phone photography I cringed. The mere thought of trading in traditional photography cameras was a concept I was not ready to accept. Nevertheless, the reality of the situation is what it is. Phone photography has allowed people to obtain instant gratification, document their journeys, and live in the moment through Instagram and flicker. While I am in no way giving up my photography equipment I was interested in Creative Live’s Iphoneography Lecture.

In one sentence, Sally Cox has me hooked. Cox is not a photographer but she had turned her iPhone into a hub allowing her to relish in amazing imagery. With over 250 photo editing apps on her phone, she took us through the editing process of some of her favorites. First on her list was Snapseed by google, which is one I have been using for a couple of months now thanks to C. C. Chapman. There real interest for me came in Modern Grunge, DeluxeFX, Photoshop Touch, Photoshop Express, Shock my Pic, Glaze, and Etchings. For the most part these apps are between $.99 – $1.99 so very economic friendly and affordable for someone who wants to give it a try without the hefty price tag. What I found to be most interesting yet had not thought of, was the ability to edit the same image in multiple applications. Each has it own purpose. For example Modern Grunge is for grunge effects. You can create grunge effects in SnapSeed but not to the same degree. By overlapping apps on any one image you allow your images to greater complexity and artistic appearances.

If you follow me on Twitter, you know I recently had a temporary separation from my main camera, which has felt like loosing a vital organ. What Sally gave me through Iphoneography was a way to continue my creative inventions and build additional techniques to add to my artistic bag and portfolio. After the lecture I sat up late playing around with the various techniques using some of the free apps and produced the image above.

Sally also gave a few extra tips to remember when embarking on Iphoneography. You always want to rememer to hold your phone firm and steady. The phone does not actually snap the picture until you remove your finger so don’t make the mistake of moving your phone prior to it actually capturing the still shot. If you take a bad image with your phone, don’t get rid of it that quickly. Take a little time to work on it, after all, you never know what may come out of it. Despite all of the great information and tips, a regular iPhone camera no matter the megapixels will be limiting in what it is able to do. Therefore, it is still important to purchase iPhone lenses you can attach to your camera and so forth. But in the face of transitions I can honestly say I will be purchasing a lens to embark on this journey as well.

To see some of Sally’s work you can follow her on Instagram @kreatable

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Iphoneography: Lessons from #PhotoWeekLive at Photography By Akili.

meta

