Business is about being bold

July 25, 2013 § 1 Comment

English: A photo portrait of photographer Anse...

English: A photo portrait of photographer Ansel Adams, which first appeared in the 1950 Yosemite Field School yearbook. Deutsch: Portrait des Fotografen Ansel Adams, erstmals 1950 im Jahrbuch der Yosemite Field School erschienen. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Earlier this week in my photo diary: week 4 post I touched briefly on my experience of learning from someone else. That accomplishment alone brings me to this post, which is actually an expansion of Who is Photography by Akili. When I’m discussing my business with potential clients and friends I very frequently sound like I know exactly what I’m talking about. Now, that comment may come as a surprise because I am supposed to know what I’m talking about right? Well, I do, however, that was not always the case. In my post Who is Photography by Akili I talked about my initial inspiration from Ansel Adams and how I felt first picking up my camera; how it changed my life. But the reality is I did not get where I am right now overnight. I was not born with this exquisite set of photography techniques and burst into the fashion world with a reeling line of clients. In fact, I knew absolutely nothing other than how to point my camera and press the trigger button to capture my image. I didn’t know how to work my lens in manual mode, and I’m still learning how to do that as I’m writing this post. I had no clue how to navigate the relationship between aperture, shutter speed, and ISO.  I actually bought a book about aperture just to learn how the three of them relate to one another to produce an amazing image. But I still didn’t even get it then. Even after buying a book, reading the book, and taking notes I still had problems in the actual application of this technique. I have been photographing various subjects and items for seven years and just three months ago I messed up my settings on a shoot. Luckily, I realized my setting malfunction and was able to salvage many of my images but my technique is still a work in progress.  Some of you may be thinking right now why I chose to start my business if I still have so much to learn and am making mistakes that would be considered by some professionals as amateur mistakes. My answer is simple. I started my business because it was what I felt was the right decision for me to make at this point in my life. It had nothing to do with feeling as though I was perfect in my craft as there is no such thing as perfection. Every day is going to be a learning process. Just two months ago I attended a lighting webinar that discussed using flash photography to create your own image setting and light. If you follow my posts you know I also recently wrote a blog post on my struggles with social media. The difference between my level of comfort with my skill and that of another’s is I realize my learning process is nowhere near complete. I realize that while I may not know everything there is to know about photography, or even running a business for that matter. I do know enough to teach someone else and that is the primary component of a business; having a service you can provide for someone else so that they leave benefitted and happy.  Don’t be angry if you keep making the same mistake or if you have to read the same three chapters over and over again in book you bought. Accept where you are currently and keep your mind set on where you are going. Assist others along the way as you definitely have information beyond valuable to them. Maybe you have mastered the one chapter in that same book they cannot grasp their head around. Maybe you understand light metering and they understand utilizing natural light. Being proficient in your area and in life is about the equal exchange of goods and services. Not for your own personal benefit but because there is someone out there somewhere that needs you to supply that benefit for them and they are waiting for you to come along and find them. Safe journeys in your quest to establishing and defining your photography skill, or other skill if photography is not your thing. Do not let the trends of the masses be the one component that restricts you from greatness.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Business is about being bold

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Business is about being bold at Photography By Akili.

meta

